Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeCricketAfghanistan announced squad against Sri Lanka T20Is series

Afghanistan announced squad against Sri Lanka T20Is series

KABUL: Afghanistan Cricket Board’s National Selection Committee today finalized the Afghanistan National Team’s Squad for the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, scheduled to be played from February 17 to 21 at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium.

Rashid Khan, Afghanistan’s Regular T20I captain, continues to recover from the back surgery and has not been drafted into the squad. Ibrahim Zadran, who led Afghanistan in the previous two T20I series in UAE and India, is set to lead the team against Sri Lanka as well.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman also misses out on the squad after sustaining a sprain in his right phalanx (hand) before the start of the ODI series against Sri Lanka.

Additionally, the Fast Bowler Mohammad Saleem Safi, who was part of the Afghanistan squad for the India tour, has been left out of the squad due to a hamstring strain. Meanwhile, Wafadar Momand has been recalled to the squad to face Sri Lanka, as his replacement.

Chief Selector Mr. Ahmad Shah Sulimankhil has an eye on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. “We have a close sight on the upcoming T20 World Cup for which we want to prepare a very good mix of players consisting of both juniors and seniors. This series alongside the three T20Is against Ireland in March is a good opportunity for us to test our bench strength and finalize a good squad for the mega event.”

Mr. Naseeb Khan, the CEO of ACB, is closely monitoring the involvement of youngsters and is committed to offering them extended opportunities at the highest level to nurture their skills. " We have consistently aimed to provide our young players with the exposure they deserve, a commitment we have maintained successfully so far.

Building a strong bench strength is a priority for us, as we want to ensure we have good backups for our key players when needed, the role Qais Ahmad is currently playing for Rashid Khan.

Afghanistan Squad for the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka: Ibrahim Zadran (C),

Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Mohammad Ishaq Rahimi (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Wafadar Momand and Qais Ahmad.

Etisalat Afghanistan Telecommunication Company and Super Cola Beverages Manufacturing Group of Companies have secured the sponsorship rights of the Afghanistan National Team for the all-format

Series Schedule:

17 th February, 2024 1st T20I RDICS, Dambulla

19 th February, 2024 2nd T20I RDICS, Dambulla

21 st February, 2024 3rd T20I RDICS, Dambulla



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments