Thursday, May 30, 2024
HomeCricketAustralian named Squad  for T20I Series against West Indies

Australian named Squad  for T20I Series against West Indies

MELBOURNE: The National Selection Panel (NSP) has named the following men’s 14-player squad for the Dettol T20 Series against the West Indies.

Australian Squad:

Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc are being managed for this series to prepare for the tour to New Zealand. Cummins, Starc and Steve Smith are likely to return for the T20 Series in New Zealand. David Warner and Josh Hazlewood return along with Mitch Marsh as captain of the squad.

NSP Chair of Selectors George Bailey said: “We see these matches as an opportunity to narrow down on those who may be part of the T20 World Cup squad later this year.

“There are a further three T20 internationals in New Zealand following this West Indies Series where we will continue to build towards the T20WC as required. “It is likely we will use the block of six games to provide opportunity to players in some different roles and positions.  “We will then be keeping a close eye on the IPL before choosing a World Cup squad.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments