Thursday, May 30, 2024
HomeCricketWinners of Australian Cricket Awards 2024 announced

Winners of Australian Cricket Awards 2024 announced

MELBOURNE: Mitch Marsh won Allan Border medal with 233 votes, 79 ahead of Pat Cummins.

While Marsh had established himself as a major figure as a powerhouse top-order batter and handy bowler in the white-ball teams over the preceding years, it was his stunning return to the Baggy Green that was the major factor in landing the most prestigious individual prize in Australian men’s cricket.

Marsh is the first allrounder to take out the award in more than a decade, with Shane Watson the last to do it in 2011.

As per CA a decision to have keyhole surgery on his left ankle in January 2023 with an eye towards making the mid-year Ashes tour paid off in spades. Recalled to the XI in the third Test which Cameron Green missed with an injury, he scored a rollicking 118, provide a handful with the ball, and hasn’t looked back.

He passed fifty in half of his next 10 Test innings, including scores of 90 and 96 during the home summer against Pakistan.

Meanwhile, he was named captain of Australia’s white-ball teams when Cummins was unavailable, was a beast during the ODI World Cup, hitting a career-high 177no against Bangladesh having flown back to Perth mid-tournament for the death of his maternal grandfather, Ross.

Cricket Australia declared as winner of Shane Warne Test Player of the year. Lyon was a deserved victor of the award named after the only spin bowler ahead of him on Australia’s all-time wicket-taking charts, taking out the Shane Warne Test award.

Despite missing the final three-and-a-half matches of Australia’s UK tour, the right-armer took more wickets than any of his fellow bowlers in the 10 Tests he played during the voting period.

Lyon was immense during the preceding tour of India, fighting back from a modest series opener in Nagpur where he took only one wicket in 49 overs to bowl Australia to one of their best wins in recent memory in Indore.

He took 11 wickets for the match, including 8-64 in the second innings, to seal Australia’s spot in the World Test Championship final. Eight wickets and a nerveless knock with the bat in a 55-run match-winning stand in the Ashes opener at Edgbaston came before he went down with his calf injury at Lord’s.

His 500th Test wicket in the summer opener in Perth was the highlight of a home summer in which he demonstrated he still has plenty to give in the twilight of his career.

Ellyse Perry won the Women’s T20I Player of the Year, Just 18 months ago, Ellyse Perry had been dropped from Australia’s best T20I XI due to her strike rate and had outsiders questioning her future in the format.

But the veteran allrounder came back with a vengeance, unlocking a whole new level in her batting to again become a force in Australia’s middle order.

For the voting period, Perry hit 390 runs from 13 innings at a strike rate of 148.29. Prior to that, her career scoring rate in the format at international level was 109.83.

Given the chance to open the batting at North Sydney Oval in January when Alyssa Healy was injured, Perry struck an unbeaten 57 from 40 balls.

Her opportunities in the T20 World Cup were more limited, but she started the tournament with 40 off 22 balls at No.5 against New Zealand.

Perry’s newfound power game again came to the fore at The Oval during the multi-format Ashes when she hammered 51no from 27 balls, while her 34no from 21 against India in a must-win game at DY Patil Stadium earlier this month was another highlight.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments