Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeCricketCSA congratulates Tabraiz Shamsi on 50th T20I Cap

CSA congratulates Tabraiz Shamsi on 50th T20I Cap

JOHANNESBURG: Cricket South Africa (CSA) would like to be among the first to congratulate Proteas spinner, Tabraiz Shamsi, on reaching his 50th T20 international in the Proteas’ third of the five-match series against India today.

The 32-year-old made his debut in 2017 against England and has been a vital member of the team, even during his three years of waiting in the wings and touring with the team as Imran Tahir’s backup. When he received his opportunity, he ensured it was not wasted and has been a valued member of the Proteas brand ever since, with 57 wickets and best bowling figures in an innings of 4/25 and an economy of 6.86 and average of 21.56.

CSA CEO, Mr Pholetsi Moseki said:

“It’s a proud day for all of us, celebrating one of South African cricket’s favourite characters. I use that word on purpose, because Tabraiz has shown strong character over the years, while being excellent in his wait in the wings and burst onto the scene with talent and a few magic tricks up his sleeve.

“The fact that Tabraiz is still the number one T20I Bowler in the MRF ICC Rankings speaks volumes about his hard work and contribution to the Proteas over this past season and we truly wish him all the best in today’s fixture against India, where he has already made us proud.

“May this be the start of many more seasons of entertainment and success for him.”

South Africa take on India at 19:00 IST, 15:30 SAST and the match will be live on SuperSport.

Proteas T20 squad vs India

Temba Bavuma (captain, Imperial Lions), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Gbets Warriors), Wayne Parnell (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Dwaine Pretorius (North West Dragons), Kagiso Rabada (Imperial Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tristan Stubbs (Gbets Warriors), Rassie van der Dussen (Imperial Lions), Marco Jansen (Gbets Warriors).


India T20I series vs South Africa itinerary:


09 June                            1st T20I                             Delhi        SA won by 7 wickets

12 June                            2nd T20I                            Cuttack     SA won by 4 wickets

14 June                            3rd T20I                            Vizag

17 June                            4th T20I                             Rajkot

19 June                            5th T20I                             Bengaluru




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments