Thursday, May 30, 2024
HomeLatest NewsPakistan announces squad for Asian Rugby Div II championship

Pakistan announces squad for Asian Rugby Div II championship

LAHORE: Pakistan Rugby Union announced 26 men’s National team squad for upcoming Asian Rugby Div II championship. According to Information provided by Secretary PRU Salman Shaikh.

Pakistan is hosting Asian Rugby Championship. Chairman Selection Committee Rizwan Malik along with selectors Yahya Bhatti, Mohsin khan and Muzamil Wazeri announced the team.

The 2 ranking matches between Pakistan and Thailand will be played on the 29th may & 1st June, 2022. respectively.
in Lahore at the Punjab football stadium  Initially a 4 nation tournament reduced to 2 team format as China and Taiwan couldn’t make it due to covid outbreak and lock down restrictions in their respective countries.

Secretary Salman Shaikh told the media we welcome the Thailand rugby team to Lahore Pakistan and said  that due to the significance of the tournament we have hired the services  of an experienced coach from South Africa Mr.Gert Mulder.

Gert brings with him over 35 years of experience in coaching rugby from schoolboy, first class club rugby to provincial level. (All associated within the Blue Bulls Rugby Union.)

He had the privilege to work with numerous Provincial, SA Schools, SA u/20, Super Rugby, Blitz Boks and Springbok players & is currently the Director of Rugby at Harlequins Rugby Club in Pretoria, the Chairperson of the Blue Bulls Rugby Coaches Association and a Vice-President of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union.
I am very excited and honored to be appointed as Head Coach of Pakistan National team, said Gert.

After the last practice match  Gert spoke on team announcement saying i spent a month with Pakistan team and i see huge talent and i hope that Pakistan team has a good chance to win & will perform well.

Following is the list of officials and team

Gurt head coach,  Back Line coach Umer Islam, Forward coach Muhammad Babar, Defense coach Shakeel Malik, Strength and conditioning coach Jahangir Nawaz, Medical Doctor Ehtasam Physio Zia.
while 26 men squad Hamad Safdar is team captain, Ahmed Waseem is vice captain, Ali Shahid Line captain, Dawood gill Defense captain, while others  Ali Khan, Anjum Sajjad, Muhammad Aqib Siddique, Arfan Ali, Arslan Mir, Israr Ahmed, Dawood Shah, Faisal Aslam, Kashif Khawaja, Khalid Bhatti, Khurram Shahzad, Muhammad Bilal AKbar, Muhammad Waqas, Muhammad Afzal, Muhammad Haroon, Muhammadf Imran, Moiz Shah, Umair khan, Usama Aslam, Saad Arif, Shoaib Wadood Khan and Wasim Abass.

Chief selector Rizwan said the boys have been training very hard despite the tough weather conditions and we have selected the best possible side to represent the country.

The winner will qualify to Div I.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments