Wednesday, June 19, 2024
HomeCricketDraft for Big Bash League opens now

Draft for Big Bash League opens now

MELBOURNE: The world’s best players will begin signaling their intent to play in the Big Bash Leagues from today, with nominations for the BBL|14 and Weber WBBL|10 Overseas Player Drafts now open.

The Drafts will see clubs add international firepower to their domestic rosters in their quest for Big Bash titles.

Now into its third year, the BBL Draft attracted over 300 nominations in each of its first two iterations, while the inaugural WBBL Draft last year saw 122 players nominate.

More players could be drafted this year – for BBL|14 and WBBL|10, Clubs can take up to four overseas players by the completion of the Draft, an increase from three in previous seasons. The fourth player would be considered a Replacement Player for a Primary Squad member.

This quartet of overseas talent can be made up of drafted players, plus those signed before the event under the League’s new multi-year contract provision.

Clubs can sign a maximum of one overseas player per competition for up to three years prior to the Draft. These players do not need to enter the nominations pool, but all others hopeful of being drafted must nominate prior to the event.

The first group of player nominations will be announced soon, alongside a date and broadcast details for the Drafts.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager, Big Bash Leagues, said:

“The appeal of an Australian summer has made the KFC BBL and Weber WBBL destinations of choice for the world’s best players for over a decade.

“Off the back of a successful 2023-24 summer, which saw growth in crowds and audiences alongside exciting cricket, we know many of these players can’t wait to return this summer.

“We look forward to welcoming nominations from Big Bash favourites and new faces alike ahead of the Drafts later in the year.”

The contracting window for KFC BBL|14 and Weber WBBL|10 is now open. Clubs can sign and trade domestic players, and sign one international per list on a multi-year contract.

Current squads for both Leagues are below.

 BBL|14 squads

Adelaide Strikers: James Bazley, Cameron Boyce, Brendan Doggett, D’Arcy Short, Matt Short, Jake Weatherald

Brisbane Heat: Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Matt Kuhnemann, Nathan McSweeney, Michael Neser, James Pierson, Will Prestwidge, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson

Hobart Hurricanes: Nikhil Chaudhary, Tim David, Patrick Dooley, Nathan Ellis, Peter Hatzoglou, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitchell Owen, Matthew Wade, Charlie Wakim, Macalister Wright

Melbourne Renegades: Josh Brown, Harry Dixon, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Nathan Lyon, Kane Richardson, Tom Rogers, Will Sutherland, Adam Zampa

Melbourne Stars: Scott Boland, Hilton Cartwright, Sam Harper, Campbell Kellaway, Glenn Maxwell, Joel Paris, Tom Rogers, Mark Steketee, Marcus Stoinis, Beau Webster

Perth Scorchers: Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Mitchell Marsh, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner

Sydney Sixers: Sean Abbott, Joel Davies, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Moises Henriques, Hayden Kerr, Todd Murphy, Kurtis Patterson, Josh Philippe, Jordan Silk

Sydney Thunder: Wes Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Oliver Davies, Matt Gilkes, Chris Green, Liam Hatcher, Nathan McAndrew, William Salzmann, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha

Weber WBBL|10 squads

Adelaide Strikers: Jemma Barsby, Darcie Brown, Katie Mack, Tahlia McGrath, Bridget Patterson, Madeline Penna, Megan Schutt, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Brisbane Heat: Laura Harris, Ellie Johnston, Jess Jonassen, Charli Knott, Georgia Redmayne

Hobart Hurricanes: Heather Graham, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Amy Smith, Molly Strano, Rachel Trenaman

Melbourne Renegades: Josie Dooley, Ella Hayward, Sophie Molineux, Georgia Wareham, Courtney Webb

Melbourne Stars: Sophie Day, Nicole Faltum, Kim Garth, Meg Lanning, Annabel Sutherland

Perth Scorchers: Chloe Ainsworth, Stella Campbell, Piepa Cleary, Maddy Darke, Alana King, Lilly Mills, Chloe Piparo

Sydney Sixers: Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Kate Pelle, Ellyse Perry, Kate Peterson

Sydney Thunder: Samantha Bates, Hannah Darlington, Saskia Horley, Anika Learoyd, Phoebe Litchfield, Claire Moore, Tahlia Wilson



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments